List Only

Is this a scam I got into?

I have been job searching on Indeed.com and found a Data Entry position available. I applied online sending my resume to them. I later got an email asking for an online interview and after talking for an 2 hours, I got the job. I was told I would be recieving emails with information to put into quickbooks and send back by a certain time. I would be getting paid $600 bucks a week. Is this real? I didnt give or wasnt asked for any personal info beside my address and phone number. What do you think?

Public Comments

  1. Normally a scam would ask you to send them money....but proceed with caution as they may just be trying to get info. A legitimate employer would need a lot of personal information in order to file taxes and also issue a paycheck etc. Just proceed with caution and do a little research on the company.
  2. You know the old saying "if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is".
  3. Time will tell. Also, if it sounds to good to be true, it probably is.
  4. I do a lot of online RE work and they always ask for my 1099 at the beginning so I can receive my pay correctly. I would try more research before I did work.
  5. It sounds like it Might be legit.. but don't be surprised if you start getting spammed with junk mail and your phone lines tied up by marketers.
  6. Doesn't sound like a scam. Some people pay a lot of money for book keeping or data entry. Research the company you just got hired. If you can't find the company there, then I would start getting a little suspicious. You can call your boss and ask them more information about the company. you can ask for how many employees work there, how long has the company been in business, etc. If you have to PAY anything, then yes, the company is a scam so stay away from that. You should NEVER have to pay for a job.
  7. Its a scam to send you junk mail and telemarketers.
  8. I think it could be either. I would ask to speak to two or three people who have worked for them for at least 6 months. I would look up their name on the Better Business Bureau website and I would let them know that you are concerned about the job offer. Ask them how they can assure you that they are legit. Maybe they can provide you with a home office address, a business license number. At the least if it's a scam you will do some work for free, at the worst on top of that they will steal and sell/use your identity. It's worth the time and effort to look into the company until you feel comfortable. Good Luck and be careful.
  9. Be careful, I wouldn't give out any additional personal Information until I was sure- check with the BBB and Chamber of Commerce.
  10. Hmmn, sounds like a scam to me.
  11. I agree with TG I do data entry,in need of a job..but every one I "apply" for has asked for money up front
  12. There was no money involved keep a watchful eye out. Blessings
  13. How do they hire you without a SS#? I'd run the business name thru the State atty general and the local BBB Rule 1 applies here; if it sounds too good..... I'm betting scam here.
  14. I'd be leery of it. $600 a week is a lot for basic data entry. If you could find someone to do this for $10/hour in a regular office, you'd have to work 60 hours a week to make that much money. If you're not going to have that much to do, something sounds fishy. On the application or when you were on the phone, did you give them a social security number? Did you give them any info about bank accounts, maybe so they could direct-deposit a check? Did you give them any other personal information? Credit card numbers, driver's license numbers, etc? If you did, start checking them for unusual activity. This doesn't sound on the up-and-up to me.
  15. I don't know, it's possible. Don't give them any details of your bank or anything! If they wanna pay you get them to send you out a cheque. It's the safest way to do so, just be careful! Good luck. x
Powered by Yahoo! Answers