List Only

Is the craigslist ad legit to you?

***I know its the wrong section, but noone answered in the section I had it in** Is this ad legit to you? Please help!!? http://houston.craigslist.org/ofc/117001... I responded to ad a couple days ago and it seemed ok. He didn't say anything off the wall. Here was his email: "Goodmorning. My name is Vincent. This is a real position. Sending of a photo was optional, thank you for yours. I just wanted to put a face to all the resumes. It makes it more intimate and real when reading someones best attempt at respresenting themselves through words. I have recieved over a 450 applicants in 2 days. I actually feel that hiring someone is a bigger resposibility than I thought it was, what I mean is, giving the job to someone who really needs it and deserves it. I will be hiring someone this week. I go in for surgery on Monday and need an assistant by then so he/she can drive me home from the hospital. This is a hard working job, and I wouldn't be paying someone to just hang out with me. There are errands to run, cooking, shopping, cleaning , meetings, and research and so forth and so forth to be done every day. I would like to interview you within the next 2 days. Please let me know the best time. We could do coffee any time today or tomorow." I met up with him at a local Starbucks and it went ok. He seemed casual and didn't do anything out of the ordinary. He told me that the tasks to be his Personal Assistant would include light cleaning, sometimes cooking, researching, typing, running with him (occasionally), picking up\dropping off drycleaning, etc. My dad told me that he doesn't seem right, then again he wasn't really listening when I was trying to explain about the ad. My best friend was leery as well. The only thing I'm concerned about is that I would be working out of his house. He told me what company he works for, but I don't remember the name (the interview was hours ago). If he gives me the job, what questions should I ask him? Does this sound legit? He pays really good money

Public Comments

  1. uhh.. kinda sketchy.. its like he is hiring you to be his wife/slave
  2. I would first do some research on the company names, and to see if their network is legit. And ask if there could be more meetings and a tour on the company if possible.
  3. No. Sounds like a sex-slave OR just some a-hole that wants someone to wait on him hand and foot. While he films it... Yuck! run away! and REPORT him to the local police and to craigslist! Sounds like a pervo.
  4. I don't even know why you would even want to be someone's personal assistant.
  5. It depends really. If he's 85 years old and you feel you can take him if he gets fresh then by all means go for it. lol However, if he's younger (which is what I'm assuming) then it might be wiser to find a position where you would be caring for a woman. Safety should be your number one priority. It might be better to sign up with a company that hires out your services. I believe their clients are screened for anyone that might be dangerous to the aides/personal assitants. Good luck.
  6. MY WIFE AND I WAS LOOKING TO BUY A HOUSE A LITTLE OVER A YEAR AGO. WE WENT THERE AND THEY TOLD USE TO GIVE THEM ARE BANK CARD 16 DIGIT NUMBER. AND THEN GAVE US A CODE TO CONTACT THE HOME OWNERS. IF WE MADE A DEAL IT WOULD COST US $175 DOLLARS. WE CHECKED, THEY TOOK THE MONEY OUT RIGHT AWAY. WE NEVER EVEN TALK TO ANY HOME OWNERS. THEY REFUSED TO GIVE THE MONEY BACK. SO THEY GOT 175 DOLLARS, WE LOST ARE MONEY AND TIME. NEVER EVEN TALK TO ANY OWNERS. AND THE OWNERS OF THOSE HOMES WHICH ALSO PAID FOR THERE SERVICE NEVER EVEN KNEW WE WAS LOOKING? I WILL NEVER TRUST THEM CROOKS AGAIN. STAY AWAY. PLEASE.
Powered by Yahoo! Answers